Fearless Guide To Start Your Tattoo Career in Connecticut

Advertisement: Click here to learn how to Generate Art From Text

Starting your tattoo career in Connecticut is an exciting adventure filled with endless possibilities. By embracing your passion, obtaining the right education, complying with regulations, building a stellar portfolio, networking within the community, choosing the right location, and establishing a robust online presence, you’ll be well on your way to leaving an indelible mark on the thriving tattoo scene in the Nutmeg State.

How is Tattooing Regulated in Connecticut?

Connecticut Tattoo Laws, Legislation, and Regulations

The tattoo industry in Connecticut is governed by Connecticut General Statutes §19a-92g on Tattooing, which prohibits a Tattoo Artist from working on an unemancipated minor under age 18 unless prior permission of the minor’s parent or guardian has been received.

The law prohibits the tattooing of an unemancipated minor under 18 years old without the permission of the minor’s parent or guardian (CGS § 19a-92a(c)).

The law provides that any person who violates these provisions faces a fine of up to $100, imprisonment of up to 90 days, or both (CGS § 19a-92a(e))

State law in reference to Tattooing requires that a Connecticut-licensed physician supervise those engaging in tattooing:

Under Connecticut law, tattooing can be performed by a (1) physician licensed in Connecticut; (2) a Connecticut-licensed advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) working under the direction of a Connecticut-licensed physician; (3) a Connecticut-licensed registered nurse (RN) or physician assistant working under the supervision, control, and responsibility of a Connecticut licensed physician; or (4) a technician providing service under the supervision of a Connecticut licensed physician (see CGS § 19a-92a; Public Health Code, § 19a-92a-1). The law defines “tattooing” as marking or coloring, in an indelible manner, the skin of any person by pricking in coloring matter or by producing scars (CGS § 19a-92a(a)(5)).

To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Connecticut, please visit the website of the Connecticut Department of Public Health.

 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *